The Journey of a Migraine

Entering slowly.  Dull.  At first. Insistent.  Clouding my eyesight. Heaviness.  Crippling. Throbbing.  Pulsing. Eyelids dropping. Seeking shadows. Retreating.  Escaping the light.  Demanding.  I am here. Look at me.  Feel me.  Medicate. For now. There is pain. Then numbness. I will leave when I am ready.  Sleep.  Deeply.  When the storm has passed. You will feel intense calm.

In the same way the process of healing begins by facing the pain.  By becoming one with it. We must embrace the hardship. Truth is liberating. We touch our wounds and medicate them as best we can.  Some of them scar and are forgotten.  Others remain. Under the calm of the heart. Molding.  Shaping.  Reminding us. We are alive.  Like flowers.  Growing in unexpected places.

IMG_0444

 

Entra despacio.  Leve. Inicialmente.  Insistente. Nublando mi vista.  Pesadez.  Devastador. Palpitante. Pulsante.  Los párpados cayéndose.  Buscando sombras.  Retirándose. Escapando la luz. Demandando.  Estoy aquí.  Mírame. Siénteme.  Medícate.  Por ahora. Hay dolor.  Luego insensibilidad.  Me iré cuando esté listo.  Duerme.  Profundamente.  Cuando pase la tormenta.  Sentirás una calma intensa.

De la misma manera el proceso de sanación comienza al enfrentar el dolor. Al volverse uno solo con él. Debemos acoger la adversidad. La verdad libera. Tocamos nuestras heridas y las medicamos haciendo lo mejor que podamos.  Algunas cicatrizan y se olvidan.  Otras permanecen.  Bajo la calma del corazón.  Moldeando. Dando forma.  Recordándonos.  Estamos vivos.  Como flores. Creciendo en lugares inesperados.

 

2 thoughts on “The Journey of a Migraine

  1. Muchas veces aprendes a vivir con el dolor. Te acompaña y se vuelve parte de tu vida. Y aunque pasen los años siempre esta allí.

  2. A beautiful interpretation of the crippling disease we call migraines. Embracing the pain will no doubt bring forth peace as the debilitating effects subside. I love your simplicity in describing the stages, very clear and concise, yet you are still engrossed in the idea that you yourself are experiencing this “migraine”. That is, through imagery, I can see the pain, I can visualize it, but I cannot feel it. Yet, I feel your struggle, therefore I somehow feel pain if not through your words alone. Great job, keep up the good work.

Leave a comment